PDP Splits: Seven governors, Oyinlola, Atiku,and others form new faction

Nigeria’s ruling Peoples Democratic Party has finally officially split into at least two factions.

A new faction, consisting of seven of the party’s 23 governors has announced that it has taken over the party.

At a press briefing in Abuja, Abubakar Kawu Baraje, a former acting National Chairman of the PDP, was announced as the leader of the new faction of the party.

The press briefing was attended by at least seven governors including those of Kano, Sokoto, Rivers, Jigawa, Kwara, Adamawa, and Niger.

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar was also at the press briefing.

A former Osun State Governor and National Secretary of the PDP, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, was announced as the National Secretary of the new PDP faction.

The party leaders said they took the decision to salvage the PDP from those who have hijacked it.

List of New PDP Factional National Leadership

    National Chairman — Abubakar Kawu Baraje

    Deputy National Chairman – Dr. Sam Sam Jaja

    National Secretary — Olagunsoye Oyinlola.

According to the new Chairman, Mr. Baraje, the other officers are to be announced on Monday.

Related Posts